Cart New Account Login

HomeAbout usProductsSupportForumsBlogCustomer Service

search inside this forum
My USB Multilink blows up my processor
. Feb 8, 2017 at 08:34 AM (08:34 hours)
Staff: Takao Y.

• This may sound like a noob question but I have been using a Multilink for many years.

Often just after I have connected the Multilink to the target (mc9s08DZ60 or mc9s12xeq384) then on the second or third attempt to change the firmware, the chip will start to behave oddly. This would be user brakes in program that I did not put there or a BGND instruction that should not be there. On investigation it leads to some flash memory not containing the actual programs bytes. I then just put a new processor and the problem goes away for either 2 cycles or forever. I thought it may be static that blows it, so I am extra cautious about being grounded the power up sequence. But I still see it happening. I then measure the difference between the PC earth and the 0V (GND) of the lab power suppy and this is typically 5mV AC. For dat, this never happens when I use the Cyclone Pro programmer.

So my question is what is the recommended power up sequence and when do I attach the Multilink?

Regards,
    Wade

Comments

• Greetings,

You want to power up your target board after everything has been connected. So power up your P&E interface first, then connect the multilink or cyclone to the target, then power up the board externally or power via the cyclone relays.

1) When you use the cyclone pro, are you providing power to your target externally or internally from the cyclone?

2) Which multilink are you using and its revision. Should be indicated on the back sticker.