Cart New Account Login

HomeAbout usProductsSupportForumsBlogCustomer Service

search inside this forum
SAP Image Creation Utility - getting Error 18 when storing image to disk
Jarrod W. Dec 15, 2015 at 04:19 PM (16:19 hours)
Staff: Takao Y.

• Alright, I am trying to turn a s19 file into a SAP so I can use it on the Cyclone Pro. I keep getting a "ERROR 18 during script!" when I go to store the image to disk.

I used the Script Wizard and selected the 9S08QE8.S8P to match the chip we are using, and specified the s19 file I am turning into the SAP file. I then have the sequence to Erase Module, Blank Check Module, Program Module, Verify Module, Verify Checksum, and Program Trim.

This is my first time using the Image Utility and our partner that programs the s19 files has never used the Cyclone Pro, only the Multilink USB to program the algorithms.

Comments

• Greetings,

I highly suggest you first use the PROG for HCS08 software found in your cyclone pro software package. This is a step-by-step flash programming software you can use to execute the commands and figure out why you are getting this error 18 problem.

Only when you get it working in PROG should you move into automating it into an image onto the cyclone with the same files, settings, and commands.

Takao Yamada

• The PROG isn't working, it gets an error at Programming and Verifying. I follow the same steps to connect it, do a reset to enter debug mode and then it connects to the module. It can erase and do a blank check on the module but it gets that error when clicking to program.

Doing this with the USB Multilink is the same process, as it shares the same window and commands. I am able to program it under the Multilink with no problems but the Cyclone Pro PROG encounters this error following the same process to program.

I have downloaded and installed the new Cyclone software after deleting the old Cyclone software. It also updated the Cyclone Pro itself to work with the new software.