Cart New Account Login

HomeAbout usProductsSupportForumsBlogCustomer Service

search inside this forum
How to use Multilink Universal with IAR Workbench ARM Compiler
Ben H. Aug 18, 2015 at 12:12 PM (12:12 hours)
Staff: Zahar R.

• Hi to all.  Thank you for reviewing this post.  I am new to both the P&E Multilink Universal (Rev C) and IAR Workbench.

I am testing out Freescale demo code for an ARM M0+. I've built the code successfully as I have a *.srec output file.

I have the PE Multilink USB drivers installed and the Multilink is showing up in Jungo Connectivity devices per Windows 7 Device Manager.
    Device Manager->Jungo Connectivity->USB Multilink 2.0

My question: How does one configure IAR to connect to the Multilink Universal?

I've followed the Freescale/PE Micro guide for configuration, however, IAR is not giving me the option to download the program to the ARM.

I'm using the following parameters:
    (1) From IAR Workbench: I navigate to Project->Options->Debugger->Setup and select PE micro from the Driver list. I leave all other options in Setup off.

(2) Next I navigate to Project->Options->Debugger->PE micro->Setup and select the following parameters:
    P&E Hardware interface type: USB Multilink(FX)
    Reset Delay: 0 ms
    JTAG/SWD speed: 1000 kHz
    Interface: SWD
    Show settings dialog: enabled
    Log Communication: disabled
    USB: Device 1

(3) I select OK and expect the "Download and Debug" button in the IAR toolbar to enable. FAILED - Just sits in a grey'ed out state.

What am I doing wrong?
    Thanks in advance.

-Ben

Freescale Guide Link:
    http://supp.iar.com/FilesPublic/UPDINFO/007040/arm/doc/PEMicroSettings.pdf

Comments

• Forgot to add that I am using IAR Embedded Workbench for ARM, Version 7.40.3.8938, evaluation edition.

• Another note: The firmware on the Multilink Uni is set to Kinetis (thus ARM).

• Hi Ben,