Cart New Account Login

HomeAbout usProductsSupportForumsBlogCustomer Service

search inside this forum
Adding S08 Functionality to CodeWarrior S12 IDE
Bob P. Feb 1, 2016 at 09:35 AM (09:35 hours)
Staff: Johnny N.

• I have been using the CodeWarrior IDE for MANY years (currently V5.9.0), working with a few versions of the 9S12 micros. I now have a small application in which I would like to use an HCS08 derivative.  When I go to "New Project" in my IDE, only the HC12, HCS12, and HCS12X derivatives are available to use. I also use the "USB HCS08/HCS12 Multilink" interface, so I know I should be able to connect to targets that use HCS08 micros.
    How do I go about adding/including HCS08 capabilities to my development system?

Comments

• Hi Bob,

Which HCS08 derivative?

If you're using Codewarrior for HCS12X, this environment only supports development on the HC12, HCS12, and HCS12X. NXP has a different product for HCS08 development. Please look into CodeWarrior for MCUs (Eclipse IDE) v10.6. You can still use the "USB HCS08/HCS12 Multilink" dongle.

If you're working only in assembly, you may also be interested in our development package PKGHCS08_SW. It comes with a programmer, debugger, and assembler that will work with the HCS08 architecture.

Regards,
      Johnny
      P&E

• Johnny:

Thanks for the quick answer on the S08. Right now I'm looking at the data sheet for the MC9S08QA4 device, but I've only just started looking at the 08 family for a solution.

I hope that if I look into the Eclipse IDE V10.6, it's not as bad as working with Java Eclipse, which I found nearly impossible to work with (on my own developing Android Apps -- I ditched Eclipse and settled on using Basic4Android for that).

I'll also look into your PKGHCS08_SW software.

Thanks again.

Bob

• Hi Bob,

PKGHCSo8_SW is compatible with your existing "USB HCS08/HCS12 Multilink REV-C" dongle.