Cart New Account Login

HomeAbout usProductsSupportForumsBlogCustomer Service

search inside this forum
Converting .abs file to s19 file
Ujesh M. May 2, 2016 at 06:47 AM (06:47 hours)
Staff: Takao Y.

• Hi,

How to convert a '.abs' file to an S19 file?

I'm trying to flash a MC912DG128A using CProg12Z. I have just an '.abs' file received from the client. Googling around, I found that I need to convert this .abs file to an S record file in order to flash it using CProg12z.

I have tried using the burner program, but it seems like the '.abs' file is not completely converted. Reasons why I think so are,

1. The size of .abs file is 329 KB and the S19 file created from that is just 69KB in size.
    2. Even though the flashing completed successfully, the board did not work properly and failed in the tests after that.
    3. The board works fine when the '.abs' file is flashed using code warrior.

Any help would be really appreciated.

Note: I'm new to this field and so please excuse me if my doubts are too basic.

Comments

• Greetings,

The problem is that our software needs to use physical formatted files (PHY), not in logical format (ABS, ELF, S19).

We have a converter to convert your logical files into physical format called LOG2PHY:
    http://www.pemicro.com/downloads/download_file.cfm?download_id=15

1) ABS files are executable files that include the raw binary and the debugging information. This is why the file is much larger. S19 is just the binary.

2) Not sure which algorithm you were using, but usually these S12 devices have both program flash (PFLASH) and data flash (EEPROM, DFLASH). If your binary covers both flash sectors, then you need to switch over to the other algorithm and program again. For example:

- Choose PFLASH algo
    - Select my binary
    - Erase Module (only pflash erased)
    - Program (only pflash programmed)
    - Verify (verifies only, you guessed it, the pflash)
    - Choose DFLASH/EEPROM algo