Cart New Account Login

HomeAbout usProductsSupportForumsBlogCustomer Service

search inside this forum
search inside all forums
Botched bootloader update
Alex A. May 17, 2014 at 09:49 PM (21:49 hours)
Staff: Takao Y.

• It looks like my attempt to update the bootloader on my brand new FRDM-KL26Z has resulted in a bricked board. No LED powers on anymore. I'm just starting to learn ARM board development, and this is my first one. Any pointers would be appreciated. (The readme file says I need to mail my board to PEMicro if I need to fix a bootloader)

Comments

• Greetings,

There was another customer who had a similar problem and this link below helped them get out of a bricked unit. See if you can follow their suggestions and get you back to working order:

http://mcuoneclipse.com/2013/06/16/bricking-and-recovering-frdm-kl25z-boards-reset-swd-clock-and-low-power/

Takao Yamada

• Greetings,

Were you able to get your board working again?

Takao Yamada

• Hi Takao Yamada,

Thanks for replying. I'll give it a try as soon as I'm home from work today.

- Alex

• Greetings,

Any update?

Takao Yamada

• Haven't gotten to test it yet. I'll have to try tonight.

If that doesn't work, what other option is there? What is the common approach to getting a bootloader on an ARM chip? JTAG? 2-Wire? I'm learning about ARM, so any information is good.

Thanks,

Alex

• Greetings,

JTAG would be the most popular way of programming the bootloader or any code in general. I guess you could program with 2-wire but good luck trying to debug it if you see any problems. Great thing about JTAG is that it is a widespread protocol and allows both programming and debugging capabilities. If you have the right tools, you can even do external trace using JTAG so you can see the real-time behavior of the chip.

Takao Yamada